If you placed the file in the Recycle Bin before deleting it, it may have been renamed by Windows (a standard feature). In this case, the best way to find your file, is to list all files in the Recycle bin and then sort by the last modified date or by the file size.
Try running a Deep Scan, which may take several hours.
This is expected behavior. Recuva does not overwrite file names for securely deleted files - only their contents. If you try to open the file in its associated program, you'll find it's impossible. Once you securely delete a file, its contents are 100% unrecoverable.